Tour de France femmes avec Zwift: Vollering and Team SD Worx dominate the second edition

She was the favorite given her exceptional start to the season and she did not disappoint. Demi Vollering (Team SD Works) won the second edition of the Tour de France femmes avec Zwift thanks in particular to her victory at the top of the Tourmalet during the seventh stage.

Well supported by a dominating Team SD Works (four victories in eight stages), the 26-year-old Dutchwoman finished ahead of her teammate Lotte Kopecky (Team SD Works), who wore the yellow jersey for six days, and Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Canyon / SRAM Racing).

“It’s amazing what we’ve accomplished this week. It’s really good to show, in the eyes of the world, that I have a team around me, wonderful people who motivate me and allow me to accomplish so much,” said Demi Vollering.

The world champion and winner of the first edition in 2022, Annemiek Van Vleuten (Movistar Team) finished just off the podium in 4th, ahead of the Frenchwoman Juliette Labous (Team DSM Firmenich). 

With eight different stage winners and suspenseful scenarios, the week had its share of spectacle and delighted the many spectators by the side of the roads who came to encourage the best cyclists in the world.

The results: 1. Vollering (Team SD Works) ; 2. Kopecky (Team SD Works) ; 3. Niewiadoma (Canyon / SRAM Racing)…

Stages won by: Kopecky (Team SD Works), Lippert (Movistar Team), Wiebes (Team SD Works), Kastelijn (Fenix-Deceuninck), Bauernfeind (Canyon / SRAM Racing), Norsgaard (Movistar Team), Vollering (Team SD Works), Reusser (Team SD Works).


Donostia San Sebastian Klasikoa: Remco Evenepoel takes a third victory

Following his victories in 2019 and 2022, Remco Evenepoel (Soudal – Quick Step) won for the third time in Donostia San Sebastian Klasikoa, thus joining Marino Lejarreta, winner in 1981, 1982 and 1987, on the list of riders who have won the most editions of the classic Spanish World Tour race.

Having made his first attack 73 kilometers from the finish, the 23-year-old Belgian raised his arms after dropping all his opponents with the exception of Pello Bilbao (Bahrain – Victorious), whom he beat in the sprint. Aleksandr Vlasov (Bora – hansgrohe) took third place.

Winning the Donostia San Sebastian Klasikoa three times in four editions makes me incredibly proud,” he said. “I love this race, I love the fans, I love this place, and I’d like to give my thanks to the team for their incredible work.”

One week away from putting his world title back into play, the world champion has proven that a rider will have to be strong to take the rainbow jersey away from him.

The results: Evenepoel (Soudal – Quick Step) ; Bilbao (Bahrain – Victorious) ; Vlasov (Bora – hansgrohe)…



Vuelta a Castilla y Leon: Sepulvelda’s return 

Eduardo Sepulvelda (Lotto Dstny) scored twice. Winner of the second stage of the Vuelta a Castilla y Leon, the Argentinian climber on Lotto Dstny managed to earn the general classification to win ahead of Felix Engelhardt (Jayco AlUla), winner of the 1st stage.

“I almost can’t believe it. It’s fantastic to win the stage and the general classification,” Sepulvelda said. “It was a very difficult race and in the last 30 kilometers we had to be vigilant against the many attacks. I guess maybe I was a bit lucky to be there at the right time. It is simply fantastic.”

The results: 1. Sepulveda (Lotto Dstny) ; 2. Engelhardt (Jayco AlUla) ; 3. Molenaar (Electro Hiper Europa)…

Stages won by:  Engelhardt (Jayco AlUla), Sepulveda (Lotto Dstny).



Prueba Villafranca – Ordiziako Klasika: A first for Hirschi and Switzerland

Marc Hirschi (UAE Team Emirates) became the first Swiss rider to win the Prueba Villafranca – Ordiziako Klasika by taking the victory ahead of Ben Healy (EF Education-EasyPost) and Hirschi’s teammate Juan Ayuso (UAE Team Emirates), who was the victim of a crash at 500 meters from the finish while he was in the lead.

With this result, the current Swiss champion took his fifth victory of the season, and the forty-fourth for his team UAE Team Emirates.

The results: 1. Hirschi (UAE Team Emirates) ; Healy (EF Education-EasyPost) ; Ayuso (UAE Team Emirates)…


Circuito de Getxo – Memorial Hermanos Otxoa: Lutsenko solo

Alexey Lutsenko (Astana Qazaqstan Team) dominated the Circuito de Getxo – Memorial Hermanos Otxoa to take his thirty-sixth career victory.

Frenchman Tony Gallopin (Lidl – Trek) and Italian champion Simone Velasco (Astana Qazaqstan Team) completed the podium.

“It’s a great day for us. We were focused and motivated from the start and in the end the hard work of the team paid off,” said Lutsenko, current Kazakhstan champion, at the finish.

The results: Lutsenko (Astana Qazaqstan Team) ; Gallopin (Lidl – Trek) ; Velasco (Astana Qazaqstan Team)


Czech Tour: Lipowitz in front of Zwiehoff, doubled up for Bora – hansgrohe

Florian Lipowitz (Bora – hansgrohe), 22, won the general classification of the Czech Tour after winning the second stage. These are his first two professional victories.

“I do not know what to say. This is my first professional year, I did not expect to finish this race at the top of the general classification. This gives me great motivation for the future,” Lipowitz said.

The German rider finished ahead of his compatriot and teammate Ben Zwiehoff (Bora – hansgrohe), and the Czech Jakub Otruba (ATT Investments) in third.

The results: 1. Lipowitz (Bora – hansgrohe) ; 2. Zwiehoff (Bora – hansgrohe) ; Otruba (ATT Investments)…

Stages won by: Einhorn (Israël – Premier Tech), Lipowitz (Bora – hansgrohe), Staune-Mittet (Jumbo-Visma), Toupalik (Elkov – Kasper).


Upcoming races:

29 July – 4 August: Tour de Pologne, https://www.tourdepologne.pl/en/