©Zoé Soullard – Tour du Limousin

Tour du Limousin – Nouvelle Aquitaine: Barguil, the patient Breton

Warren Barguil doesn’t win often: just six victories since his professional debut in 2013. But each time, the Breton wins prestigious victories and with great style. Judge for yourself: two stages of the Vuelta a Espana, two stages of the Tour de France, a national title and now the general classification of the Tour du Limousin, which he secured in the last kilometers… of the last stage! Having led the race since his stage win two days before, Dorian Godon cracked 8 kilometers from the finish of the French event’s final stage, leaving the field open to the former King of the Mountains of the Tour de France (2017). Franck Bonnamour and Pierre-Luc Périchon completed the podium.

The results: 1. Warren Barguil (Arkea Samsic) ; 2. Franck Bonnamour (B&B Hotels p/b KTM) ; 3. Pierre-Luc Périchon (Cofidis)

Stages won by: Christophe Laporte (Cofidis) ; Dorian Godon (AG2R CITROËN TEAM) ; Simone Velasco (Gazprom – Rusvelo) ; Erik Fetter (Eolo Kometa)


Tour de l’Avenir: Tobias Halland Johannessen on fire

The Norwegian national team dominated the Tour de l’Avenir, winning five of the ten stages. And Tobias Halland Johannessen, winner on the Grand Colombier and then again next day at Saint Jean D’Arves, seemed to have taken a serious option on the final victory. But the former World Juniors MTB medalist got very hot during the 9th stage, which finished at the Col du Petit Saint Bernard. With a 2’18’’ lead heading into this final day, the Scandinavian rider almost saw his dreams shattered.

After a huge effort, Spaniard Carlos Rodriguez prevailed and dropped the Norwegian by 2’11”! With a margin of only seven seconds, Tobias Halland Johannessen became the successor to his compatriot Tobias Foss, who was the last winner of the event in 2019.

The results: 1. Tobias Halland Johannessen (Norvège) ; 2. Carlos Rodriguez (Espagne) ; 3. Filippo Zanna (Italie)

Stage won by: Søren Wærenskjold, Tobias Halland Johannessen et Anders Halland Johannessen (Norvège) ; Mick Van Dijke et Marijn Van Den Berg (Pays-Bas) ; Pays-Bas ; Ethan Vernon (Grande-Bretagne) ; Carlos Rodriguez (Espagne)


Vuelta ciclista a Espana: Roglic leader

After nine stages, Primoz Roglic is indeed the boss of the Vuelta a Espana. Winner of the inaugural time trial, the Slovenian gave up his red jersey for three stages to Rein Taaramäe (winner of the 3rd stage) and Kenny Elissonde. But it wasn’t long before Jumbo Visma leader recovered his red leader’s jersey. Once again the leader as of stage six, the rider from Jumbo Visma hit the nail on the head when he reached the Alto de Velefique. After nine stages, only Enric Mas, who is 28’’, is within a minute of Roglic. Miguel Angel Lopez, third, is already at 1’21’’. But there is still a long way to go.

The results: 1. Primoz Roglic (Jumbo Visma) ; 2. Enric Mas (Movistar); 3. Miguel Angel Lopez (Movistar)

Stages won by: Primoz Roglic (Jumbo Visma) ; Jasper Philipsen (Team Alpecin Fenix) ; Rein Taaramäe (Intermarché Wanty Gobert Matériaux) ; Magnus Cort (EF Education Nippo) ; Michael Storer (Team DSM) ; Fabio Jakobsen (Deceuninck Quick Step) ; Damiano Caruso (Bahrain Victorious)


Tour of Norway: A first for Hayter

At 22, Briton Nathan Hayter is having a good season. And at the Tour of Norway he once again demonstrated the sheer scope of his talent after taking silver in the Madison at the recent Olympics in Tokyo. Winner of the first two stages, Hayter was never challenged at the Scandinavian race to take the first stage race win of his career and his 7th victory of the season!

The results: 1. Nathan Hayter (Ineos Grenadiers) ; 2. Ide Schelling (Bora Hansgrohe) ; 3. Mike Teunissen (Jumbo Visma) 

Stages won by: Nathan Hayter (Ineos Grenadiers) ; Mads Pedersen (Trek Segafredo) ; Matthew Walls (Bora Hansgrohe)


Races to come:

Vuelta ciclista a Espana, 14/08- 05/09, www.lavuelta.com

Simac Ladies Tour (Ned), 24-29/08, https://simacladiestour.nl

Tour Poitou-Charentes Nouvelle Aquitaine (Fra), 24-27/08, www.tour-poitou-charentes.com/

Brussels Cycling Classic (Bel), 28/08, brusselscyclingclassic.be/

Bretagne Classic-Ouest France (Fra), 29/08, www.grandprix-plouay.com/

Deutschland Tour (All) ; 26-29/08, www.deutschland-tour.com/