©Tour de Romandie

Tour de Romandie : Vlasov does the double

By winning the time trial on Sunday, the final stage of the 75th Tour de Romandie, Aleksandr Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe) won the general classification and thus succeeded Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers) on the roll call of winners. “Now I know I’m a very strong rider, my next big goal is the Tour de France. So now I’m going to have a little rest and then I’m going to start my preparation for the Grand Tours. Winning now is perfect for your confidence,” confided the Russian, winner of his first WorldTour race.

Sixth in the time trial, Frenchman Thibaut Pinot (Groupama-FDJ) further confirmed his return to form.

The results: 1. Aleksandr Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe), 2. Gino Mäder (Bahrain Victorious), 3. Simon Geschke (Cofidis)…

Stages won by: Ethan Hayter (Ineos Grenadiers), Dylan Teuns (Bahrain Victorious), Ethan Hayter (Ineos Grenadiers), Patrick Bevin (Israël Premier Tech), Sergio Higuita (Bora-Hansgrohe), Aleksandr Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe).



Tour de Bretagne: Le Bon at a good moment

Is there anyone happier than a Breton rider who wins the Tour de Bretagne? By winning on Sunday, at his home in Lannion, Johan Le Bon (Dinan Sport Cycling) posted one of the greatest victories of his career: “My house is 200 meters from here, so there is nothing better than winning. The night before my first win, my kids saw the big stuffed animal and my little girl said she wanted one too. I told her I was going to try, so I’m happy because I now have two stuffed animals to take home and a beautiful green jersey […] Having taken the overall and two stages, this is my best Tour de Bretagne, you can’t ask for anything more.”

The results: 1. Johan Le Bon (Dinan Sport Cycling), 2. Alex Baudin (Tudor Pro Cycling Team), 3. Mathis Le Berre (Côtes d’Armor-Marie Morin-U)…

Stages won by: Mickaël Guichard (WB Fybiola Morbihan), Johan Le Bon (Dinan Sport Cycling), Alex Baudin (Tudor Pro Cycling Team), Casper Van Uder (Development Team DSM), Ewen Gastiou (Côtes d’Armor-Marie Morin U), Johan Le Bon (Dinan Sport Cycling).  



Vuelta Asturias Julio Alvarez Mendo: Sosa takes over from Quintana

Despite two stage wins in the event, the Briton Simon Yates (Team BikeExchange-Jayco) handed victory to Ivan Sosa (Movistar Team) in the 65th edition of the Vuelta Asturias. Winner of the queen stage the day before, the Colombian succeeds his compatriot Nairo Quintana (Team Arkéa-Samsic): “The team has helped me a lot over the past three days, especially today (ed: meaning Sunday). It’s a victory that fills us with joy and confidence for the Giro d’Italia, where we hope to shine,” concluded the winner. 

The results: 1. Ivan Ramiro Sosa (Movistar Team), 2. Lorenzo Fortunato (EOLO-Kometa), 3. Nicolas Edet (Team Arkéa Samsic)…

Stages won by: Simon Yates (Team BikeExchange-Jayco), Ivan Ramiro Sosa (Movistar Team), Simon Yates (Team BikeExchange-Jayco).



Carpathian Couriers Race in Memory of Waclaw Felczak: Miholjevic takes the reins

Fran Miholjevic (CTF Friuli ASD), won the first stage of the Carpathian Race on Sunday. At 19, the Croatian won in the sprint ahead of Martin Marcellusi (Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè) and Francis Juneau (Premier Tech U23 Cycling Project). Winner of the prologue on Saturday, the Italian Nicolo Buratti (Cycling Team Friuli ASD) lost the leader’s jersey to Miholjevic. The race continues until Tuesday.

Stages won by: Nicolo Buratti (Cycling Team Friuli ASD), Fran Miholjevic (Cycling Team Friuli ASD).



Eschborn-Frankfurt: Bennett back to winning ways

Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) won Eschborn-Frankfurt on Sunday after a bunch sprint. The Irishman posted his first victory of the season and returned to his winning ways after a series of difficult months.

The results: 1. Sam Bennett (Bora-hansgrohe), 2. Fernando Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates), 3. Alexander Kristoff (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux)…



Races to come: 

Carpathian Couriers Race in Memory of Waclaw Felczak 29/04-3/05 

Quatre jours de Dunkerque Grand Prix des Hauts de France 3-8/05  www.4joursdedunkerque.org

Bretagne ladies Tour Ceratizit 3-7/05 www.tbf.bzh

Vuelta Ciclista Andalucia « ruta del sol » elite women 3/5-05 www.vueltaandaluciawomen.es

Giro d’Italia 6-29/05 www.giroditalia.it