©ASO / Charly Lopez

Tour de France: Vingegaard dethrones Pogacar

The Dane Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) won, at the age of 25, the 109th edition of the Tour de France, which was only his second time participating. The 2022 Tour finishes as the fastest in history with an average speed of more than 42 km / h throughout the 3350 kilometers of the event.

On Sunday, Vingegaard dethroned the Slovenian Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates), winner of the two previous editions. Thanks to two high-flying stage successes at the Col de Granon and Hautacam, but also thanks to a second place in the time trial the day before the finish on the Champs-Elysées, the Dane made his mark on this edition: “I still don’t believe it,” he explained as he descended from the podium on the most beautiful avenue in the world. “My second place last year gave me confidence. A confidence that has not left me since.”

With three stage victories and an overflowing of aggressiveness, the Belgian Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) and Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) were also the great animators of this Tour, which will go down in history for its undeniable intensity.

Van Aert won the green jersey in the points classification, Pogacar won the white jersey for the best young rider. In addition to the yellow jersey, Vingegaard also climbed into the King of the Mountain’s polka dot jersey. Though the Jumbo-Visma team won six stages, it was Ineos Grenadiers who won the team classification.

The results: 1. Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma), 2. Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates), 3. Geraint Thomas (Ineos Grenadiers)…

Stages won by: Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team), Fabio Jakobsen (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team), Dylan Groenewegen (Team BikeExchange-Jayco), Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma), Simon Clarke (Israël-Premier Tech), Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates), Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates), Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma), Bob Jungels (AG2R Citroën Team), Magnus Cort (EF Education-EasyPost), Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma), Thomas Pidcock (Ineos Grenadiers), Mads Pedersen (Trek-Sofredo), Michaël Matthews (Team BikeExchange-Jayco), Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Hugo Houle (Israël-Premier Tech), Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates), Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma), Christophe Laporte (Jumbo-Visma), Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma), Jasper Philipsen (Alpecin-Deceuninck). 


Le Tour de France femmes avec Zwift : Wiebes (Team DSM) takes the first yellow jersey

Dutch rider Lorena Wiebes (Team DSM) won the first stage of the women’s Tour de France Femmes avec Zwift on Sunday. The Dutch sprinter thus posted her 16th victory this season. “Despite the favorite status, I was relaxed, I just took it as a normal race, not like the first stage of the Tour de France. The team did a great job of pulling me up in the last corner, I wanted to finish the job,” commented Lorena Wiebes.

On the Champs-Élysées, she beat her compatriot Marianne Vos (Team Jumbo-Visma) and the Belgian Lotte Kopecky (Team SD Worx).

Les vainqueurs d’étape : Lorena Wiebes (Team DSM)…


Ethias Tour de Wallonie : Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team) is back

The victim of a terrible crash last April during Liège-Bastogne-Liège which cost him his participation in the Tour de France, the reigning double world champion Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team) won the first stage on Saturday of the Belgian race on the slopes of the Mur de Huy. Sunday, after the victory of Oier Lazkano (Movistar), it was the Australian Robert Stannard (Alpencin-Deceuninck) who took the lead in the general classification. But between now and the finish at Chapelle-lez-Herlaimont on Wednesday July 27, at the end of the 5th stage, changes in position are to be expected.

Stages won by: Julian Alaphilippe (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team), Oier Lazkano (Movistar Team)…


Races to come: 

Le Tour de France femmes avec Zwift 24-31/07 www.letour.fr/fr/

Ethias Tour de Wallonie 23-27/07 www.trworg.be/

Prueba Villafranca-Ordiziako Klasika 25/07  www.ordizia-pruebavillafranca.com/

Vuelta a Castilla y Leon 27-28/07 www.vueltacastillayleon.es/

Donostia San Sebastian Klasikoa 30/07  www.klasikoa.eus/en/

Donostia San Sebastian Klasikoa women 30/07 www.klasikoa.eus/en/

Tour de Pologne 30/07-5/08 www.tourdepologne.pl/

Circuito de Getxo-Memorial Hermanos Otxos 31/07 www.puntagalea.com/puntagalea/