©La Vuelta / Charly Lopez

La Vuelta ciclista a España : Remco Evenepoel (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team) off to a good start

We had to wait for the Vuelta a España to start climbing to see the Belgian Remco Evenepoel get his stranglehold on the event. On Thursday, by taking second place behind Jay Vine on the first mountain stage, the Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team rider left his mark on the Vuelta. On Sunday, he took fourth in the stage won by Louis Meintjes (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux). In the process, he broke all his rivals on the last climb and consolidated his lead in the red jersey. Mas is 1’12 behind the leader, Roglic, three-time defending champion, is at 1’53.

General classification after 9 stages : 1. Remco Evenepoel (Quick-Step Alpha Vinyl Team), 2. Enric Mas (Movistar), 3. Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)…

Stages won by : Jumbo-Visma, Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe), Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe), Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma), Marc Soler (UAE Team Emirates), Jay Vine (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Jesus Herrada (Cofidis), Jay Vine (Alpecin-Deceuninck), Louis Meintjes (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux).


Tour de l’Avenir : Cian Uijtdebroeks (Belgium) dreams in yellow

Cian Uijtdebroeks won the 58th edition of the Tour de l’Avenir on Sunday. The Norwegian Johannes Staune-Mittet and the German Michel Hessmann completed the podium. The 19-year-old Belgian showed his strength during the two mountain stages (7 and 8) which finished at Saint-François-Longchamp and la Toussuire. By winning two days in a row, he secured the leader’s jersey before managing his lead during the final stage won by the Italian Milesi: “Since I was a little boy, I’ve dreamed of wearing the yellow jersey, maybe even one day wearing the yellow jersey at the Tour. Wearing it now after winning is a dream come true. We will see what happens in the future,” commented Uijtdebroek

The results1. Cian Uijtdebroeks (Belgium), 2. Johannes Staune-Mittet (Norway), 3. Michel Hessmann (Germany)…

Stage won by: Netherlands,  Søren Wærenskjold (Norway), Casper Van Uden (Netherlands), Adam Holm Jorgensen (Denmark), Thomas Gloac (Great Britain), Germany, Romain Grégoire (France), Cian Uijtdeboreks (Belgium), Cian Uijtdeboreks (Belgium), Lorenzo Milesi (Italy).


Tour du Poitou-Charentes en Nouvelle Aquitaine : Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ) consoles himself

Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ) won the 36th Tour du Poitou-Charentes en Nouvelle Aquitaine on Friday. The 28-year-old Swiss rider waited for the fourth and penultimate stage to dispossess Marc Sarreau, winner of the first three stages, of the leader’s jersey. Winner of the Tour de la Communauté de Valence last year, Küng enjoyed this success a few days after losing his title of European champion (2nd). “The objective is Australia with the time trial at Worlds (from September 18 to 25 in Wollongong),” he commented.

The results1. Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ), 2. Kévin Vauquelin (Team Arkéa Samsic), 3. Pierre Latour (TotalEnergies)…

Stages won by: Marc Sarreau (AG2R Citroën Team), Marc Sarreau (AG2R Citroën Team), Marc Sarreau (AG2R Citroën Team), Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ), Lorrenzo Manzin (TotalEnergies).


Deutschland Tour : Adam Yates (Ineos Grenadiers) always at the front

Just days after celebrating his 30th birthday, Briton Adam Yates won the 37th Deutschland Tour on Sunday. He had done the hardest part by winning the day before in the Freiburg-Schauinsland stage. The final stage won by Pello Bilbao did not change anything at the top of the general classification.

The results1. Adam Yates (Ineos Grenadiers), 2. Pello Bilbao (Bahrain-Victorious), 3. Ruben Guerreiro (EF Education EasyPost)…

Stages won by: Filippo Ganna (Ineos Grenadiers), Caleb Ewan (Lotto Soudal), Alexander Kristoff (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux), Adam Yates (Ineos Grenadiers), Pello Bilbao (Bahrain-Victorious).


Grand Prix Lorient Agglomération Trophée Ceratizit : Mavi Garcia (UAE Team ADQ) wins again

Third in the Giro d’Italia, Mavi Garcia (UAE Team ADQ), 38, won the 21st edition of the Grand Prix Lorient Agglomération Trophée Ceratizit on Saturday. She won the sprint in Plouay ahead of Amber Kraak (Jumbo-Visma). The Spaniard posted her 4th victory of the year, and the most important in this one-day race. “I’m almost in disbelief, but happy. I know I have very good form and I hope to continue like that in the next races,” said the four-time Spanish champion.

The results: 1. Mavi Garcia (UAE Team ADQ), 2. Amber Kraak (Team Jumbo-Visma), 3. Grace Brown (FDJ-Suez-Futuroscope)…


Bretagne Classic Ouest-France : Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) as expected

He was the big favorite of the 91st edition of the Bretagne Classic Ouest-France and he did not disappoint his supporters. Belgian Wout Van Aert won the sprint in Plouay on Sunday after a lively 255 kilometer race. This is Van Aert’s ninth victory this year. “In the end, it was the legs that spoke. I felt good in the final, it was of course difficult because the other teams were attacking one after the other and I had to control on my own, but I managed so I’m very happy,” commented the winner of the green jersey at the Tour de France 2022. “After the Tour, I was really sick for a week. I took the time to recover, and I’m happy with the legs now. I have four weeks left now before the world championships. It’s a long time but it’s important to stay focused.” Benoît Cosnefroy (AG2R Citroën Team), winner in 2021, took 20th, while Tadej Pogacar was 89th, more than three minutes from the winner.

The results1. Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma), 2. Axel Laurance (B&B Hotels-KTM), 3. Alexander Kamp (Trek-Segafredo)…


Races to come:

La Vuelta ciclista a Espana 19/08-11/09 www.lavuelta.com/

Simac Ladies Tour 30/08-4/09 https://simacladiestour.nl

Tour du Doubs 4/09