Members of the new Board of Directors (from left to right): Yannick TALABARDON ; Mauro VEGNI ; Wim VAN HERREWEGHE ; Sonia MARTINEZ BARRIO ; Kiko GARCIA (General Director) ; Christian PRUDHOMME ; Ruben PERIS ; Ed BUCHETTE ; Luc GHEYSENS ; Renzo OLDANI ; Javier GUILLEN
© YP Médias


The AIOCC held its General Assembly this Friday, November 19 in Paris. 85 member races were represented in person this morning and 8 members followed the discussions by video conference. A new Board of Directors was elected which appointed Christian Prudhomme to chair it for the next four years.

After the last two years marked by the Covid-19 pandemic and the many difficulties encountered by the organizers, the participants were able to discuss the subjects introduced by the AIOCC.

  • Safety is a recurring theme which is faced head on by all the organizers.
  • The AIOCC is delighted with the development of women’s cycling; the momentum is gaining with 25 UCI Women’s WorldTour events in 2022. The economic balance will be decisive for the future.
  • The organizers undertake to continue their efforts to respect the environment, which is a necessity. Competitive cycling should be seen as a driving force behind the desire to engage in cycling for as many people as possible.

Christian Prudhomme: “Our unity is important”

“I am proud of the confidence placed in me once again by the members of AIOCC, which is the voice of the organizers. Our unity is important as is the unity of the cycling world, which has enabled most of races to run in 2020 and 2021. Everyone worked together.

We will continue with strength and conviction to do the work that we have carried out for several years to better explain the job of the organizers, which is varied and not limited to the sporting aspect.

I strongly believe in the cycling pyramid. You need a wide base. We have the will with the new Board of Directors to do more for the races of the other members to support them, encourage them, and answer their questions.”

The new Board of Directors :

President: Christian PRUDHOMME (FRA) – Tour de France

Deputy Vice-President: Ruben PERIS (ESP) – Vuelta Catalunya

Vice-President: Wim VAN HERREWEGHE (BEL) – Tour of Flanders

Secretary General: Luc GHEYSENS (BEL) – Gent-Welvelgem

Assistant Secretary: Sonia MARTINEZ BARRIO (ESP) – Tour de Burgos Femmes

Treasurer: Ed BUCHETTE (LUX) – Tour du Luxembourg

Deputy Treasurer: Yannick TALABARDON (FRA) – Flèche Wallonne Femmes

Members: Thierry GOUVENOU (FRA) – Paris Roubaix; Mauro VEGNI (ITA) – Giro d’Italia; Javier GUILLEN (ESP) – Vuelta a Espana; Renzo OLDANI (ITA) – Tre Valli Varese; Sébastien ARSENAULT (CAN) – Grands Prix Cyclistes Quebec et Montreal