©ARN  / Sigurd Salberg Pedersen

Arctic Race of Norway: Leknessund (Team DSM) bided his time

Nine years after his compatriot Thor Hushovd, Norwegian Andreas Leknessund (Team DSM) won the Arctic Race of Norway on Sunday. During this 9th edition, the 23-year-old rider dethroned the French Victor Lafay, third last year and leader of the general classification before the fourth and final stage which took place around Trondheim. Winner of a stage at the Tour de Suisse this year, the Norwegian surprised everyone to escape and win alone with a lead that allowed him to clinch the final victory.

The results: 1. Andreas Leknessund (Team DSM), 2. Hugo Houle (Israël-Premier Tech), 3. Nicola Conci (Alpecin-Deceuninck)…

Stages won by: Axel Zingle (Cofidis), Dylan Groenewegen (Team BikeExchange-Jayco), Victor Lafay (Cofidis), Andreas Leknessund (Team DSM).


Races to come:

Grote Prijs Jef Scherens-Rondom Leuven 15/08 www.tourofleuven.be/fr/

PostNord Danmark Rundt-Tour of Denmark 16-20/08 www.postnorddanmarkrundt.dk/

Tour du Limousin-Nouvelle Aquitaine 16-19/08 www.aiocc.ch/event/tour-du-limousin-nouvelle-aquitaine/

Tour de l’Avenir 18-28/08 www.tourdelavenir.com/

La Vuelta ciclista a España 19/08-11/09 www.lavuelta.com/

Bemer Cyclassics Hamburg 21/08 https://www.cyclassics-hamburg.de